turtles
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Looking For Tips and Suggestions: How to Market Your Art  (Read 1225 times)

Offline happyknot

I am still very new to marketting and selling my artwork. I know that there are many here who are vastly more experienced and I would like to hear any tips and suggestions you have.

I know that being confident and cheerful but not obnoxious or arrogant is a good manner to have when inviting people to look at your work, and when making offers to potential clients. I also know that you have to share your work with as many people as possible to get yourself known but still be able to do that in a non-spammy way.

Finally - I have opened commissions ( at my DA) but what am I lacking? Are my Terms of Service too unfriendly? Is my work too dry? Colorless?

Please feel free to share anything you feel might improve my chances of attracting clients.

(The high pixel portrait cost is to deter people from commissioning me for them. I did that because they're very difficult to do but if someone liked my pixel style so much that they wanted to hire me for that specifically, they could.)
« Last Edit: August 24, 2008, 11:26:13 AM by happyknot »
My DA Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come. You wait and watch and work: You don't give up. ~ Anne Lamott

Offline Nny

Re: Looking For Tips and Suggestions: How to Market Your Art
«Reply #1: August 24, 2008, 06:44:11 AM»
If you're still learning how to make ports, your prices shouldn't be "crazy-high". You're charging $30 for a furc port? That's a bit much. I mean, some of the best artists (imo) are only charging $10-$15 for their ports, and other really good artists are only charging $5. So uh, lower your price a bit if you want more people to commission you.

Edit;; If you don't really want people to commission you for ports, then don't do them....