turtles
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Premade Characters?  (Read 832 times)

Offline Adielle

Premade Characters?
«: November 03, 2008, 04:43:20 AM»
Just curious.  I have never done premade characters before, but I just love designing characters and costumes and I always seem to make more characters then I have time for, so many simply become "muses."  If I were to make a character sheet and portrait of a premade character of my design, would you bid?  If so, how much do people generally price these things for starting price and autobuys? 

What sort of character would you like to see?  What sort of theme? 

The style would be similar to http://adielle.deviantart.com/art/Detective-finished-100874921 and http://adielle.deviantart.com/art/Syn-Character-Sheet-100506661 .  I would probably make a premade to cater to all the male roleplayers out there and one for the females.  I just want to see if there is any genuine interest and if so how much these typically go for, since I prefer not to over-price.
Goodbye my Sunshine, for we are but smoke and ash...

My Gallery.

Offline Lovedoll

Re: Premade Characters?
«Reply #1: November 03, 2008, 06:19:50 AM»
Hmm.. I think it depends on how the piece turns out. Besides the design, you're also selling artwork. Most people use mspaint/pixel/solid drawings, flat colored, one that shows the remap colors for portraits and one that shows the colors of the char. I have a few premade sheets I bought;

http://ravengeek.com/niles/refsheet.png
http://ravengeek.com/lovedoll/ref.png

Both came with a remapabble portrait. The reason why they work well as reference sheets is because they're simple, flat and cover all the details, plus they make it easy for the owner of the character to show the ref to other artists and have portraits, character art etc drawn, or premade ports edited easily.