turtles
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Where should I go from here?  (Read 823 times)

Offline Adielle

Where should I go from here?
«: February 05, 2009, 12:33:33 AM»
I have a ton yet to improve on with my art.  While I can be somewhat happy with my pieces, I always have that gut feeling that I could have done better on many parts.  I do have some background in figure drawing, though I could definitely use more.  I haven't done realism in quite some time and its definitely something I'm finally getting back into.

I have a bunch of really good and recommended books to help, more so for instruction in technique for complex background, perspective, composition and musculature.  What I want to know is what do you think should be priority in terms of practice at the moment?  Also, any tips would be helpful as well.  I’m primarily a traditional media artist and that’s the area I am pursuing practice.  Unfortunately, my computer isn’t the greatest so when I open a 3000pixelx3000pixel canvas in Photoshop it tends to lag so badly that I see a line a good 10 sec after a draw it which doesn’t really aid in practicing digital painting.  So, until I get a better computer I’ll be sticking mainly with traditional media, but I am welcoming any digital media advice as well, or simply advice on other programs which might be better for a not as fast computer.

I did look for a book on complex lighting and unfortunately they were out of stock at the time.  I know lighting is a big grey area for me.  I get the general idea of shading, but its definitely not perfect and I am looking to practice much more complex lighting to help both the atmosphere and mood of my artwork.  I think in my most recent piece I took a small step in the right direction, but it still needs a hell of a lot of work.